In many parts of world, children have been allowed to have certain work and got paid. Although, salaried jobs may have some benefits, I do not agree with this trend.

Clearly, there are several benefits that a paid work can provide for school-age children. Firstly, in terms of career, starting a paid job at school age would offer children with a chance to gain real work experience. Secondly, on an individual level, children who have salaried employment seem likely to be more mature. As a matter of fact, it is doing a paid job that enables children to learn how to deal with pressure at work and manage his or her budget in life. Finally earning money by selling work can help teenagers take on the responsibility for their own future. For example, profits from their jobs can be channeled back into daily demands likely snacks, clothes or their academic tuition payment.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, for many children, it is spending a great deal of time doing a paid work that discourages school-age children from participating in recreational activities. For example, devoting a whole day to work would leave children are not enough energy to do any physical sports such as swimming. Secondly, there is evidence that increasing working time is associated with decrease academy outcomes. In fact, children may fall behind their peers and even drop out of schools due to lack of time to consolidate our knowledge they have learned at school.

In conclusion, paid works have some benefits. In my view, I believe that children should not be engaged in paid employment because of its potential drawbacks.