International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

People have different views about the effect of the international tourism. While I accept that international tourism has some positive impacts on our lives, I believe that it has more negative impacts compared to positive ones.

On the one hand, International tourism has many advantages. Firstly from the personal perspective, tourism is a most popular leisure activity. Tourists can relax and have fun by sightseeing a new place. Also, tourism broadens their horizons and opened minds by exposing them to different cultures and customs. Secondly, from an economic perspective, tourism industry plays a vital role in many countries. People may rely on tourism for their income. Also, tourism industry creates many jobs opportunities in services like hotels and restaurants. As a result, international tourism improves the standard of living in some local areas.

On the other hand, I believe that International tourism has more negative impacts on the environment and local cultures. From an environmental perspective, tourism may affect the environment negatively in three ways. Firstly, the excessive building needed by tourism industry could destroy natural habitats and even may result in the extinction of many animals and plants. Also, international tourism causes more pollution and wastage. Finally, Tourism industry puts more pressure on natural resources like oil and water and this may lead to the shortage of some basic human needs. From a cultural perspective, tourism may affect local cultures negatively. Traditional jobs and skills like farming and fishing may die out because tourism forces people to work in their services. So, this may lead to loss of many cultural features and values.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of international tourism on the environment and culture are more significant than the possible benefits on personal and economical sectors. Governments should impose laws to protect the environment and local cultures.