Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how other others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advances in technology, it is possible for travellers to immerse themselves in foreign countries’ culture and traditions at their fingertips without squandering a large amount of money. While some are in support of this statement, I agree with those who are in favour of authentic travel experiences to acquire an understanding of other cultures.

To begin with, internet-based travel will bring about a plethora of benefits for travellers. It is true that one of the most outstanding advantages is time-saving. This is because travellers are able to take advantage of the internet to grasp the traditions and customs of a foreign country, which, in turn, will save commuting time for travellers. Additionally, travelling through online platforms tends to hinder travellers from taking chances. Unanticipated problems, including terrorism and violent protests, have become alarming issues in several countries which might pose a threat to tourists. As a result, travelling through cyberspace is likely to help travellers to steer clear of such dangers.

Despite the described advantages above, I contend that getting around is the most effective way to have a deeper insight into others lives. Indeed, hands-on travel experiences might offer overseas tourists a precious opportunity to grasp the hidden sides of local lives on a regular basis. For instance, in some countries where the tourism industry is a main economic driver, local residents are struggling with keeping afloat since they have to take loans from banks to run homestay services. This will put severe pressure on their shoulders, which might result in financial hardship once they fail to make profits from tourism services.

In conclusion, although online platforms might provide tourists with inevitable positive impacts as mentioned above, it is my firm conviction that travellers should get around to gain authentic experience.