It is better to be happy than rich.

Do you agree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, it is arguable seen that being happy is the preferred choice of most people as compared to being rich. In my opinion, it is possible for people to feel happy even if they have little money, as other aspects of life can play a more vital role in creating happiness.

It is undeniable that without financial stability, one could not think of happiness. This is because, the basic necessities are not met and each day people are struggling to make ends meet. As a result, they do not worry about being happy, as all they think of is financial security. With this, it is arguable that being rich is much more important than being happy.

On the other hand, gaining happiness through work is believed to be one way to gain happiness. For example, a nurse doing volunteering work in undeveloped countries will not earn any money in return, but the reward of helping people and doing the job they are good at brings happiness in itself. Therefore, happiness can be found by using skills one is trained for and through job satisfaction. Besides that, having family support and loved ones in one’s life influences happiness. Although money can bring the receivers the opportunities to enjoy themselves, nothing beats being surrounded by a loving and caring family.

In conclusion, being rich is not an essential key to happiness as it can be found through job satisfaction as well as family. If more people work hard in life to achieve happiness rather than pursuing being rich, it would make the world a better place to live in as happiness is a very important emotion and everyone in life feels it.