It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

These days more and more student are going to poor country to help people. There are those who say that volunteering study at the poor county in the gap year is beneficial to the young student however, others believe that this working style is detrimental to the students who take a gap year. In this essay. I will examine the benefits and downsides of this phenomenon and provide my overall opinion.

From the overall perspective, there is a number of advantages of volunteer work at the backward countries for the young students. Perhaps main advantages of this trend is that they can gave opportunity to discover their career interest, to find oneself. A good illustration of this that such trip not only fun but also gives a change to socialize, engage in volunteering and understand the global issue and global culture. A further point in favor of volunteering work is that these students get to face challenges and gain life experience. As a result, they develop empathy to the other people and become mature and responsible adults.

Despite these arguments, there are also various disadvantages to charitable work for student who take gap year. The main disadvantages is that students may lose their concentration on theirs studies. This is because the new experience usually effect their mind and give trouble to follow regular university schedule. Secondly, volunteering study for a year lead to spend money and time. This may cause the financial trouble for the student in their academic years.

In a conclusion, it must be said that charitable work has clear advantages and disadvantages. Taking the above into account, it would be appear that there are more advantages than disadvantages between take a gap year to do volunteer work and not do it. If we can do volunteer work at the underdeveloped countries we can gain much more life experience.