It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries in the future Do you think it is a positive or negative development

In some nations, like China and other developing countries, the average life expectancy trend shows that the percentage of elderly citizens will rise as compared to young citizens. An increasing number of old people in a country should be a matter of concern for the government as it restricts economic growth and puts a burden on the health care infrastructure.

The main factor responsible for the development of any nation is always its young workforce, which means, the country with more youth always remains a step ahead of other nations in terms of capability to work. In the same way, the country with more elderly people is less likely to grow economically as it creates a supply shortage of qualified workers. Also, when the life expectancy of people increases, they are more likely to work for a longer period of time, and their retirement age increases, this creates job deficiency for the younger generation. In countries like Japan, for example, the average life expectancy is very high due to which the young workforce is comparatively very less. All these factors are highly responsible for lowering productivity and shrinking the workforce.

Secondly, as more people are ageing rapidly than ever before, it puts a burden on the health care system, in other words, better health care infrastructure and policies are required for the well-being of elderly people. All these facilities come with a cost that ensures that people can avail of medical facilities without any hassle. In some countries like North Korea, the government spends almost 10% of its GDP to introduce better health protection & pension schemes for the elderly. Such initiatives by the government authority, like allocating more money and resources to their health care systems, are imperative so that the medical needs of old people are fulfilled.

To conclude, in different countries, there is an increasing trend of average life expectancy which is considered as a negative development. It restricts not only the economic growth of the nation by depending on a small pool of young workers, but also puts an extra cost on the health care system.