It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Views often differ on what creates a high achiever. Although it can be argued that it is either natural talents or practised skills that solely determine one's excellence, I am in favour of the view that both can make up a person with outstanding triumphs.

On the one side of the argument, some people believe that one need not work hard to obtain his skills if born to own them. To put it another way, on account of genetic elements or living context excluding parental guidance, some people have been geniuses in specific fields, including sports or art, from an early age with remarkable accomplishments. Mozart, the world's music prodigy who had a great sense of sound at the age of 3, can be taken as an example. In addition, some abilities are so unique that they seem easy to only an individual but impracticable to virtually everyone else. At this point, no matter how hard the learner tries, he still cannot acquire the expected results.

However, opponents of native talents' role as a success indicator claim that guidance, dedication and hard work can lead to the mastery of skills. It appears to be the case that parents, as well as teachers, share this viewpoint as they encourage students to develop their capabilities with appropriate teaching and practice. In addition, some have shown extraordinary progress regardless of their hardships to achieve the conquest of skills, which enables them to be professional athletes or renowned musicians. Among the evidence supporting this is the footballer Ronaldo, who overcame the economic difficulty of his family to fight for his football ambition.

From my perspective, I clearly understand both mentioned views, but I would not fully favour either of them over the other. As with the matter of nature versus nurture, I assume they are not mutually exclusive because any person can have hidden innate talents and the potential to be taught well to excel in the future. Without natural talents, continuous practice may not be effective. Meanwhile, invaluable inherent skills would wastefully fade through time without training and effort.

In conclusion, there are good reasons both for native talents and for practice to be the answer to the question of what makes a brilliant achiever. Personally believing, there should be a hybrid combination of them inside a person to make him obtain accomplishments with flying colours.