It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason younger workers are to be preferred. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the last decades, many fields in our society have had a rapid development which has brought a several changes with it. In today’s society it is a widely held perception that older employees lack the capability of adopting to the new work patterns and thus companies ought to employ younger workers. However, older workers may had set in their ways and potentially against changes, I would still consider that old employers still have a significant role to play in the contemporary workplaces through their valuable experience.

First and foremost, it is scientifically proven that flexing to changes is a matter of personality type rather than age. In fact, old employees can be adroit to be responsive to the new working process as well as younger workers. My 57-year-old uncle who works in a local bank can be a good example for this case. Despite his old age, he can compete with his young colleagues one-handedly in a company where dramatic alterations frequently occur.

Secondly, mature workforce in the workplace could be an invaluable tool. Senior employees' long-year experiences and managerial skills will be considerably beneficial to teach young workers how to cope with different situations at work. For instance, the vast majority big companies are now striving to keep their old staff in the team in order to polish up the immature members of the job market.

On the other hand, there are some individuals who claim that youngsters are more preferable in employment as they are with the most enthusiasm and energy. Since physiologists confirmed that the memory declines with age for people, it will be fruitless to appoint an older worker in specific industries. For example, technological industry that requires a person who is capable of dealing with a numerous amount of numbers, calculation, systems and information which are more available with younger employees than older workers

In conclusion, I believe despite employing younger worker seems to be more suitable to the new challenges at work. I assert that it is crucial for companies to have older staff to put the young employees into the right path through their substantial and valuable experience. In future I think corporates will get better at equalizes opportunities between younger and older workers to achieve better outcomes.