It has been observed that most of the students at University do not choose science to study.

Why this problem happens?

What are the effects on society?

Nowadays vast majority of college students do not prefer science as their majors. This is because science studies in general are time consuming courses and the outcomes of this situation are lacking to have advance technology and innovation in society and having bad economy.

Science studies requires high dedication and a great amount of time. This is because, learning and excelling on science is extermely important for societies as many developments in the modern world lean on science. Therefore, when it comes to picking a field in the university, many college goers do not prefer to be admitted to such kind of studies as they are highly crucial and learning comes with great responsibilities and sacrifaces. For instance, according to a recent research from the Guardian Newspaper, more than half of the students in the UK are shaping their major decision regarding to how many hours in a week they want to spend a time by studiying, and yet the majority picking courses which are not consume their leisure time. This is why students are not kneen on choosing science.

As an outcome of this, societies are lacking to have qualified engineers and scientists and this situation make some societies with providing technologies from outside resources and as an outcome not having a strong economy. Since the advanced technologies are vital in the modern world, not having innovative solutions and improvements makes countries depend on external sources with importing high quality devices from abroad. For example, Pakistan does not provide important amount of funds to its universities science department, and since the above mentiod reason effect students decisions to not select science, Pakistan as a country having hard times to advanced its technology therefore, importaning many important gadgets from the other countries.

To conclude, although science studies are vital to learn, many students do not prefer to do their majors on this field. This is because these studies requires a great amount of devoution. As a consuquence, this pressing problem pricing countires with having less-advanced techologies and bad economies.