It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

In general, to learn how to differentiate right from wrong, children should be taught in their early childhood. Some argue that this could be achieved by punishing them, however, I disagree with it. Is a punishment the only way for children to differ them or are there also less severe methods to apply?

It is commonly believed that punishment not only hurt feelings of youngsters, but also hinder them to learn this skill. Firstly, a punishment is forbidden in most countries due to being futile or even dangerous for children. For instance, one, who is punished to differ black and white, may have lower enthusiasm towards learning. Furthermore, when parents are applying this approach, it may seem they achieve immediate results, however, it is likely to adversely impact on their offspring in the long-term instead. Therefore, punishment cannot be applied to teach them how to learn this skill.

I believe that there are other possible solutions for teachers, not mentioned to parents to nurture children to have good behaviour. It is not uncommon to see that in many cultures, adults attempt to have individual approaches towards young generation, and hence, children are adept at differing right from wrong in their adolescent. This method may require repetitive explanations, as well as involvement several professional consultants who have significant experience to improve the skill of children, and therefore even though children learn it for years, they, no doubt, achieve it without any negative influence.

In conclusion, although some people claim that punishment is of imperative to learn certain type of skill, I believe that adults, such as teachers and parents may apply more gently methods for their children to behave which is socially acceeptable.