It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

It is argued how morality sould be taught to children at their initial stage of development. There are some who believe that punishment is required to improve children's behavior, and make them understand the right. This essay will discuss the reasons why I disagree with the later statement, and the appropriate alternative methods that could be used by parents and teachers.

First and foremost, even if disciplinary actions were used since ages to bring children into the right path, I am of the view that in modern times punishments are not such effective measures because they can harm children physically and mentally. Indeed, punishments, especially corporal punishment, aiming to teach children the value of morals and ethics, do not serve this purpose if they include violence, such as spanking. According to a recent study of Harvard Univeristy, corporal punishment damages the relationship between kids and parents leading to harmful effects in children's mindset. This is why I think that there are corrective measures which not only do they play a pivotal role in children's behavior, but also they do not have a negative impact.

Rather that hitting children or correcting children's mistakes, understanding the consequences of your own behavior is a far more effective method to penalize the wrong behavior and make children aware of the right one. More specifically, parents and teachers should use strategies that will help children learn form their mistakes, while also cultivating their decision-making skills and justice instincts. For instance, parents could leave their children wihtout completing their homework, if they do not want to, making them feel embarassed the next day at school. In this way, natural consequences of children's behavior will make them be more disciplined, and understand the difference between the right and the wrong.

In conslusion, although some people opine that punishments are needed for a child to be aware of the right and the wrong, I strongly disagree with this statement, since there are alternative methods available to teachers and parents serving more effectively this purpose.