The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade This has made overseas travel much more accessible Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

In recent years, travelling by plane has been very popular, mainly because of the cheaper airtickets in comparison with the past. Although this is beneficial from an economic perspective, it has also brought about a lot of problems concerning the environment. This essay examines the merits and downsides of this issue.

Roaming around the countries by airplane has a positive impact on them, by improving their economy. Indeed, it is true that the financial sector of a plethora of countries is based on tourism. When tourists have the chance to travel in much more countries, as a result of the low cost flights, the financial backgroung of the visiting countries is developped. Greece, for instance, as one of the countries with tourism-based economy, has been benefited by the recently low prices of some airticket companies, since they have increased its GDP. If prices of flying tickets arised, the number of people who like visiting foreign countries would be decreased, and the economy of countries which rely on tourism would plummet.

Even though a drop in flight tickets may bring benefits for coutnries' economies, it can affect negatively the environment at the same time. The operation of airplanes extracts a sheer amount of greenhouse gases at the atmosphere, provoking air pollution, and inimical effects on the environment. Emissions from domestic aviation in US, for example, has increased since 1990, to account for the double greenhouse gas emissions from the transportation sector. Obviously, aircrafts can pollute the environment more than any other mean of transportation, making travelling by plane less-enviornmentally friendly spare time.

In conclusion, although the lower prices in air tickets has resulted in some benefits for the tourism-based economies, it increases the individual's carbon footprint, making airtravelling the main contributor to air pollution.