It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

one important stage in children's growth is the development of a conscience, which is the ability to tell right from wrong. many parents and teachers believe necessary punishment plays an important role in forging such ability, but unfortunately i think this opinion is only partially correct.

First, whether we should exert punishment depends on a child's age. To scold an infant is foolish and meaningless, since he or she is too young to understand what is happening and why he is she is being punished. Once the age of reason is reached however, we can encourage good behaviours by rewarding and discourage bad ones by explaining why this is wrong. That is to say, punishment does not have to be involved in helping children become a good member with decent moral.

Besides, even if punishment is necessary in some cases, we should not forget that there are variety of methods to correct bad behaviours. After-school detention or stripping of children's TV time are good strategy without involving any physical form. Another thing needs to bury in our mind is that punishment must fit the crime. For example, if a student answer the teacher's question without raising the hand, simply ignoring this behaviour is a good way. In that case, that child is just want to draw the attention of others and this does not hurt anybody. however, if a student is bullying other students or even steal from others, teachers or parents must take it more seriously and act immediately. still, physical punishment is not a necessity even in such case: You can ask this kid to apologize for their behaviour, or make him stays at him room until he realizes what he has done is not right.

In conclusion, instead of emphasizing the role of punishment, we should take children's cognitive level into consideration. On top of that, even in a scenario when punishment is a must, there are still many less aggressive ways to help children become a responsible citizens in the future.