It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion quot What sort of punishment should parent

One of the instrumental factors that significantly impact children’s behavior throughout their development stems from their parents’ education. Therefore, it’s of importance that kids know how to differentiate between the good and the bad from the initial stage of their long-life growth by giving them punishments when necessary. While I agree that this is also a way of raising kids, I believe that adults should be careful in choosing which methods of punishment to apply to them.

On the one hand, punishments help children understand their misbehaviors and allow room for improvement. It’s widely known that the more mature we become, the more mistakes we make as these things are a part of growing up. Kids are energetic and always eager to absorb things around them, which gives rise to their wrong-doings. Parents can adopt physical punishments as a sign of warning as well as eliminate bad behaviors in the long run. For example, I used to skip classes back in primary school to hang out with friends. When my mother discovered this, she hit me on the back and had me down on my knee for nearly 15 minutes. This taught me the lesson the hard way and I stopped playing truant from school since then.

On the other hand, parents and teachers should select the appropriate way to punish them as its consequence could affect the children’s mental well-being. By nature, they are impulsive and stubborn as they can not understand the value of what we’re imparting. If we don’t know how to repress our overwhelming emotions and adopt abusive punishments, this could not only lead to feuding relationships between parents and children, but it’s also conducive to hostile behaviors of them. For illustration, one of my childhood friends got into drugs and showed signs of violence in school as a result of the continuous physical abuse from her stepdad. What could we derive from this story? Instead of using violence to punish them, we should talk things over so that they understand the core reason why they shouldn’t do that.

In conclusion, parents and teachers must apply punishment to children, however, we should not let their kids endure punishments severely as a result of our ruthlessness.