It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

A commonly held view is that children should know the distinction between right and wrong when they are at an early age. Punishment is required in some circumstances to complete this education. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea, and there are numerous ways for parents and tutors can apply to teach children good habits.

There are two primary reasons why punishment can harm children. Parents and teachers should not use corporal punishments because they can badly affect children’s psychology causing depressing, psychological and emotional disorders. Punishing may also pose a threat to their physical conditions and intellectual development. Actions such as beating, terrorism, or embarrassment, for instance, are likely to make children lack confidence, timidity and they always tend to be in a state of bewilderment. In addition, punishments sometimes can have the opposite effects. Juveniles seem to be rebellious if they were punished severely or repeatedly, especially those who are stubborn and have strong personalities. To explain this, children who experienced harsh punishments are more likely to act violently at school, such as bullying and misbehaving if their parents are not around.

On the other hand, teachers and parents should select appropriate ways to teach children. The initial solution is opting for educational lessons which have a tendency to be better than aggressive punishments. For example, parents can use the solutions such as doing homework, restricting their playing time, or reducing allowance to avoid squandering money on useless products, instead of serious punishments. Furthermore, parents and tutors should talk to children and explain their problems. This not only makes children understand their mistakes but also helps parents and teachers to detect other issues in order to solve them promptly. Last but not least, parents can be an excellent example of good behavior for their children to follow.

In conclusion, because of the harmful results of punishments, I believe it is unnecessary and there are still good solutions for teaching children.