It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Teaching children how to distinguish right and wrong at an early age is significant. Punishment can also be given to carry out the theory. However, that must be a constructive punishment which helps build them up instead of putting them in negative attitude.

Children are totally new papers. they will become what we "draw" on them. Therefore, knowing right and wrong at an early age has an intense influence on young children. they have chances to be exposed to what are considered right and wrong definitions, and because this is done when they are little, habits and a solid ground will be formed as time passes by. For examples, if we show them taking someone's objects without permission is bad and thus receiving a bad outcome, they at least have a general picture in their head that this is not something they should do the next time.

So the question emerges, what method or technique should we use to teach them? Does punishment work out in this case? Punishment can be more of a negative effect than a beneficial one, especially if we abuse of it and do not have an appropriate type of punishment. We all understand the bad feelings when being punished. Being exposed to this type of emotions for a long time can make children weak, easily to get afraid, and tend to be over-obeyed with no reasons. Bullied at school, trying to please everyone or always being in the anxious condition are the most likely to happen outcomes.

All the thing we need to consider about punishment is that it is not a tool to scare children away or to make them anxious, it is a supportive way for them to experience the result and understand why certain things are wrong and right. Therefore, it is nothing but a constructive punishment will work out. this type can include two possible steps: first is to show them how does it feels if that happens to them and second is to give punishments as light as possible. For instance, if they take someone's toys without asking, we can create a similar situation but at this time they are the one whose toys are gone and ask them whether they feel bad about this. If their answer is yes, tell them that what they are suffering is exactly what people are suffering when this happens as well. After that, an agreement that we won't buy any new toy in the next few days can be made as an attached condition.

Teaching children at an early age how to distinguish what are right and wrong is undoubtedly a thing that parents should take into consideration, as it can form habits and build a solid ground for them when they grow up. However, a harsh punishment won't work out in this case cause it has more negative effects than positive ones. It is a constructive and light punishment focusing on how would they feel if they suffer from that bad situation and why this happens that will work out.