It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Many parents believe that punishment is required to help children discriminate right and wrong at the early stage of life. I believe this opinion has both good and bad aspects behind it.

Punishing your child many times will result in a lot of mental problems in the kid's future. Beside from disciplining them, we should educate children to learn what is good and bad in life. Many experts have proved that punishing children will not make them more obedient but in the opposite, they will learn to be more violent and disobey.

However, parents who delicate their children in every situation will result in that in the future, they will believe that they do not do anything wrong because their family will always protect his or her wrong. Many friends of mine who get very protected by parent whenever they do anything wrong, so these kids will never learn how to know the difference between right and wrong.

Therefore, parents should give some discipline but not frequently to their child. Sometime we should be strict, but also be easy to our kids, this should depend on the level of guilt they have made. Some soft punishments like a forbidden child from eating their favorite meal or make them compensate things that they have broken. However, the most important things are to teach them to apologize for their mistakes, so children can learn what is right and wrong in their behavior.

In conclusion, to teach children to know the differences between right and wrong, some light punishment must be used but overused it will harm children's mentality.