It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is vital to raise a child in to a good individual to society. Some people believe we should apply punishment to help children create good behaviors at an early ages. In my opinion, I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, although some people think that it is enough to tell others people what is right or wrong, this is obvious not the case for children due to their brains are totally new to know how the world works and hardly to understand clearly all what we say. For example, when children makes a mistake, if we teach them what is right or wrong, they may not remember that they have been taught and may underestimate the consequences of their actions, as a results, they will likely repeat their faults in the future. Therefor, punishment is necessary to set up their correct actions from the start. They will be unable to forget as bad memory is usually deep in their mind. It will remind them of the past punishment for the similar actions.

On the other hand, how should we employ punishment on children is a controversial question. Eastern residents tend to punish by violence while western people believe it is better to prevent them children from their worthless activities such as playing games or TV programs which do not have educational purpose. The latter should be encouraged since violence may cause children to suffer mental problems which may lead to the reverse results. Children may grow up and become criminal instead of being good citizens.

In conclusion, while correcting the children faults by using punishment that help them remember what is wrong, but to much of it lead bad mental effects on children. Therefore, parents and teachers should study different kinds of punishment carefully before applying any of them.