Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that students should given the choice to learn whatever they want in university while the other argue that they must study subjects that are useful for their future jobs like math, technology or science. From my perspective, I totally agree with the former opinion to some extent while partly disagree with the latter.

On the one hand, students might have benefits and disadvantages when they have free choice. For some students who have the determined mind with clear goals and plan, choosing freely their preferred subjects help them achieve great results as it allows them to pursue the knowledge they find particularly useful for them. However, for someone who have not figured out their path, in other words, they have not known exactly what they really want, finding the right subjects to take can be frustrating for task. Furthermore, studying in the subject they like will result in the best outcome. By contrast, forcing to learn subjects they do not like will result in bad grade, time-wasting and possibly unemployment upon graduation.

On the other hand, other assume that’s it is much better for students to study certain subject in the long term, especially scientific and technology related ones. It is undeniable that science, math and technology have considerably improved our lives. Besides, specializing in one area like computer would not help students widen job opportunities. Personally, most of the companies have tendency to seek for the suitable candidates who need their requirement in every aspects instead of excellent in one subject, thus, students should study other helpful subjects to meet all needs in modern society.

In conclusion, allowing university’s students to freely choose their preferred curriculum can be beneficial while studying other useful subjects for their future jobs.