It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

To become a good human being, certain qualities should be taught to a child. Identifying right and wrong is one of these qualities. Both parents and school have important role in this learning process.

But giving punishment for learning may have negative effects on a child mind, especially any kind of physcial punishment. If a child committed something wrong, then he or she should be corrected by parents or teachers. If things are clearly explained to children that why doing his action is right or wrong, what kind of impact of their action may have on others, then the children will understand the difference between right and wrong.

For instance, if a student bullied one of his classmate, then the teachers should explain that his behaviour is not appropriate toward his classmate and make him say sorry to his classmate for misbehave. If the student again repeated his action, then teachers should inform the student's parents about their child's behaviour. As children spent most time of the day with their parents, parents has a bigger role to play to amend their children attitude. The parents should discuss with children about behaviour.

However, if the children do not try to understand what is good or bad in spite of parents and teachers efforts to explain, then some minimal punishment such as not allow to watch television or play video game, not let to eat ice cream or chocolate etc. should be considered.

In conclusion, children are like to follow others. So, if proper environment and instructions are given y their parents and teachers, then probably there will be no need of any kind of punishment for teaching them to identify the right and wrong.