Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the era of globalization and global economy, people often have to travel to foreign countries for various reasons such as works, business, education, recreation and so on. No matter what is the reason of living in a foreign country, language is going to be a major factor because without properly communicating with the local people, anyone can hardly assimilate into the new society. It can cause some problems for our daily life such as buying goods from shops, finding a location etc.

For example, if a student has to live in Germany for his study for several years, then it is a must for him to learn German language. Otherwise, he will remain detached from his classmates and eventually will not enjoy his study.

Another problem of speaking a foreign language is someone has to be fluent in speaking that language.Otherwise, local people may feel apathy to talk with him.

Sometimes the accent can be a important factor. If a person's accent is hard to understand, then it is less likely that he or she can easily cope with the new environment. For instance, for a British, it is really hard to pick up the Indian English accent which is very different from British or american accent.

In conclusion, people who lived in another country have to speak the foreign language with a certain level of accuracy and fluency to overcome the problems they can face. Without proper speaking skills, people will definitely confront some social as well as practical problems.