To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The characteristics of a society can be defined by the habits of the people of the society, their customs and cultural traditions, beliefs, economical ability, lifestyle etc. So, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study a region where these features are preserved and maintain by its people.

In the era of globalization, most major cities have become an amalgamation of people from different parts of a country or the world with different cultures, beliefs and lifestyles. As a result, it is very hard to distinct any particular feature of the people of the major cities that is present all over the society of the country. For example, the people of major cities of the south Asian countries have deep effects of western culture and lifestyle as compare to small cities and rural areas of these countries. When the people of these cities, for instance, speak, they use more English language rather than local languages whereas rural people almost don’t use the particular language.

On the contrary, the people of the rural areas and small cities are more conservative. They respect and maintain their customs and cultural traditions that come from their predecessors. Again, there is an economical different between the people of major cities and rural areas which also changes the lifestyle.

In conclusion, major cities can be studied to understand the characteristics of a society but only observing these major cities will not give clear understand of the whole society. To get the full view of the society one must study its rural areas and small cities also.