It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

Probably the most demanding part of the parenting is teaching a child to separate the right from the wrong. One way to accomplish this is to punish a child when it crosses the line and does something inappropriate.

I believe that punishment is an essential tool in raising children. Parents, as well as teachers, should therefore use it. However, I find responsibility to be crucial when it comes to punishing children, and that is what separates benevolent parent or a teacher from a tyrant.

The big question nowadays is what a proper way to punish a child is. Children seem to have more rights now than in the past, making it harder to sanction them effectively. At homes, parents are dealing with this new trend by using almost police negotiators’ tactics to get their kids to clean their rooms or do their homework. In schools, teachers are struggling even more, with barely any means left to deal with disobedient pupils.

However, it did not always use to be this way. Only a few generations ago, it was much easier for parents and school teachers to discipline children. In my country, a spanking was considered appropriate if a child did something really unacceptable. Sitting in a classroom corner was a common discipline measure for misbehaving in school.

For me personally, physical punishment, or hitting a child, is a sensitive question. Although many people look at parents who beat their kids with contempt, I find this measure still acceptable under extraordinary circumstance. If a child is endangering its or other children’s safety, a gentle spank would not hurt that bad compared to the possible consequences of a reckless behavior.

In conclusion, I find no extreme position about punishing children to be particularly beneficial for children themselves. Abusive parenting, with severe beatings, can hardly produce well-balanced individuals. Similarly, enabling a child to do whatever it wishes can be potentially no less harmful. Possibly the best way for children to learn would be to punish them based on the severity of their mistakes, using physical punishment only as a last resort.