It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is no doubt that in today’s era it is necessary for youngsters to acquire knowledge about the good and bad aspects of life. While some believe that, different types of punishments should be imposed on kids by parents and teachers, to make them realize difference between the right and wrong, I do not completely agree with this view and would support y explanation with relevant examples.

On the one hand, certain kinds of penance when imposed on children, encourage a good behavior in them. This is because, kids are made to understand the importance of following the path of truth and justice, which inturn motivates them to become a better human being. For example, a study done by the UK news channel in 2017, concluded that when children were made to analyse their mistakes by themselves, they tend to improve their behavior and choices positively. In contrast, excess strictness can lead to humiliation and loss of confidence in students. As a result, they tend to behave like a rebel and evade to follow the right path in life.

On the other hand, conversation plays a very crucial role in guiding the young learners to behave appropriately. The reason for this is that, the sharp and active brain of youngsters that imbibe good knowledge, which help them decide what is better for them. For instance, in my own experience, I was given autonomy to decide for my future, which inturn boosted and facilitated my confidence. As a result, It helped me analyse my choices and categorize them under right and wrong. However, parents should have a strong surveillance and provide guidance wherever necessary to their kids. Therefore, a child’s personality development and personal choices depend upon neuro-cognitive development as well as various environmental factors.

In conclusion, while giving punishments aid children to choose the right path, I believe that understanding a child’s behavior and having conversation helps in overall development.