It is important to lean the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.to what extend do you agree and disagree with this opinion?what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be a

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent to do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teacher be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishments are applied to children at a very young age so that they will learn from their mistakes. Personally, I agree on the statement, however it should not be physically intimidating but rather more constructive and conducive to a child’s well-being.

Parents and teachers discipline their children or students to set boundaries and to teach them values and lessons in life but it should not be abusive in any other way. Beating kids or slapping them have physical and psychological effect. Physically they can have bruises and marks while psychologically they can develop fear from their adults causing emotional trauma or mental problems.

Kids are very inquisitive by nature and one better way to a young mind to fully understand everything is to adjust to his level of mental capacity. For example, at home when kids make mistakes parents can limit their playtime activity or purposely not allowing them to watch their favorite cartoons or not giving them desserts. This is one way of ensuring that the young ones can understand the degree of their mistakes and what would happen if they commit errors. Moreover, it will imprint on their young mind and they will think and avoid making the same mistake twice.

Educators who give penalties like depriving snacks or lunch to students or making them run in their places or at the back of the classroom is cruel and humiliating. Truly they will hesitate to misbehave twice, but it could also alter their ego every time they will remember their humiliation. Instead, physical activities like watering plants or cleaning the classroom when classes are done, is more adaptive and kind way to ensure the learners understand and differentiate bad and good conduct.

My conclusion is that the concept of punishment is to promote awareness in a young’s mind and to ensure them that they will grow up to be a morally good citizen without exerting brute reinforcement.