It is more important for children to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a matter of concern among people over whether the importance of learning domestic history outweighs their counterpart of international history. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this idea since both two historical fields have their own distinctive benefits for students.

First of all, history in general and local history in particular which plays a vital role in broadening knowledge about events happening in the past is the compulsory subject for almost all education systems in the world. Indeed, children can receive many advantages from history lectures and materials about their country. In more details, not only do students expand their historical horizon but they also know clearly about their origins. As a result, they raise their awareness of treasuring their presented lives which are given by the efforts of former generations. For example, Vietnamese students who study well Vietnam history may have a sense of pride about the sacrifice and the great spirit of Vietnamese people against the invaders.

On the other hand, international history is also equally important in comparison with domestic history. There is the fact that the local historical events usually depends on the changes in other parts of the world. Therefore, learning world history is also another way to gain more knowledge about local history. In addition, the more worldwide historical knowledge students know, the better they can get on with other customs and cultures. For instance, having good acquaintance about British history is the advantage for exchange and overseas students to make friends easily with British people.

In conclusion, I believe that both local history and world history have their own considerable importance. From my point of view, people should not compare between them since they have their specific values for children.