It is neither possible nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The provision of higher education for young people has remained a debatable topic throughout the years. Opinions divide on whether or not it is feasible to provide a significant portion of the youth with the opportunity to go to universities. I personally believe that giving too many young people the chance to pursue higher education is an impossible and ineffective task.

Firstly, the alarmingly high number of students will negatively affect the quality of both universities and students. For example, many students who come from poorer backgrounds go to public universities, in which the tuition fees are supported by the governments. It is argued that learning in a classroom with too many students is not as effective as learning in a classroom with fewer students. Therefore, universities should limit the number of students they take in. Moreover, as more and more students wish to go to college, the governments’ funds might not be sufficient enough to ensure the quality of public universities’ curricula and infrastructure, leading to their downgrade.

Secondly, not all people are suitable for the university environment. Universities prepare students for their future jobs by providing in-depth knowledge about their chosen careers through lectures and seminars. However, many people learn better through actual experiences. For instance, a person who has a technical mind and is interested in cooking may be able to learn more quickly by spending more time in the kitchen instead of going to college. In addition, there are many famous figures who have found success without getting their diplomas, namely Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg. If university places are made available to anyone, a lot of students will end up in a place where they do not truly belong.

In conclusion, I believe that providing university places to too many young people should be discouraged for the reasons above.