It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that travelling is not essential when people desire to gain understanding about different cultures, thanks to a great deal of information in books, films and online. While I accept that the latter has a number of benefits, I believe that the former could be advantageous to some extent.

On the one hand, learning about culture through books, movies and the internet could bring a wide range of advantages. Firstly, people could save a great deal of time by doing this. Instead of wasting several weeks visiting places, they now find it much easier to just stay at home to broaden their knowledge about different cultures, due to the breakthrough in storing and providing information. Secondly, the amount of information which is provided via these kinds of media is limitless. It is accessible and easy for people to discover national cultures, which are usually portrayed in books, films and especially on the internet.

On the other hand, visiting different places could be beneficial in some ways. First, tourists could gain real and valuable experience through trips. For example, many of the tourists to Thailand go to watch the shows of transgender models and claim that they could understand the difficulties of these people. As a result, people would show much more positive attitudes towards transsexual men and women. Furthermore, travelling gives tourists countless opportunities to make friends from different places. Tourism could help people to build up valuable relationships because they may have chances to not only meet but also share feelings with other tourists from an array of countries.

In conclusion, while I support the idea that books, films and the internet could bring benefits to people to learn about different cultural aspects, actual travelling is by no means unnecessary when tourists want to discover lifestyles and national customs of different cultures.