Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of rapid growth, many new diseases have been born which puts people’s lives in danger because there is no cure at the moment. The funds from the government are the only way to save them but it is limited so have to choose between preventing sickness or helping sick people. From my point of view, I think that government should focus on preventing diseases rather than saving people who are having the incurable illness.

First of all, “Prevention is better than cure” this is a statement that people often told each other when they just have any illness. It emphasizes the important role of prevention in our society. Without locating the main viruses which cause sickness and terminated it before it starts to multiply, it is hard for people to avoid getting infected. Since that, prevention is the crucial key for the government to protect their citizen's life. For instance, there used to be a petechial fever in Vietnam which infected thousands of people, however, due to the fast reaction of the government, the disease had been stopped right in time before it spread out the entire country.

Furthermore, treating people who are already sick would not always be successful. In some cases, patients might be worse after taking some treatment because the medications are not compatible with them. Moreover, it is only waste of money helping patients who have deadly diseases such as final stage cancer because there is no cure for them. Instead of doing that, the government could use the money to develop vaccines or putting guide banners to help people have more knowledge about the diseases.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that funding money to help sick people might work in some cases however, it is vital for the government to prevent viruses from infecting their citizens.