Some people think that it is more important to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the responsibilities of the national government is to maintain the well-being of its citizens. Some people argue that public funds should be allocated to promote healthy lifestyle rather than treat the illness. I hold a neutral opinion as I believe equal value should be placed on both sides.

There is no doubt that the country and the residents could derive benefits from the advocation of healthy lifestyle. First of all, it reduces the expenditure of medical services. With the savings of public funds being allocated to the other industrial sectors such as manufacture industry and agriculture, the local economy can expect to achieve an exponential growth. In addition, promoting healthy lifestyle among people helps to cultivate a healthy next generation. One piece of research conducted in the USA reveals that the average health condition of children in America has improved significantly in recent year because of the healthy living habits fostered by American families.

Nevertheless, the importance of treating those who are already ill also cannot be underestimated. To begin with, allocating public money in medical care area improves people’s confidence in the government to maintain a secure and stable societal regime. This is because through devising appropriate treatments to the diseases such as asthma and diabetes, the capability of the local authorities could be approved by their people. Moreover, providing suitable treatment to sick people can improve their life expectancy, which assists them realising a fulfilled and desired life. If the sickness people are not able to acquire adequate medical services, they will generate a sense of aversion towards the government.

In conclusion, I believe both promoting a healthy living habit and providing effective medical treatments to the public are vital to sustaining the well-being of society and individuals.