Over the past century, reading, writing, and maths skills are always the most important parts of education. Some people argue that every child will benefit if a fourth skill is added: the computer skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that school education always puts great value on imparting students with appropriate reading, writing and maths skills. Some people believe computer skills should be added as the fourth skill. I firmly agree with the opinion.

There is no doubt that children can derive substantial benefits if they are equipped with suitable computer skills. It is well-known that computer provides students with an easy access to the Internet, which is regarded as a more convenient and vivid way to acquire knowledge compared with reading books. As the contents presented on the Internet are usually appealing and easy to follow, children who are equipped with necessary computer skills will be rendered with a comprehensive understanding of abstracted and complicated principles, thereby improving their study productivity. One piece of research conducted in the USA reveals that students who have learnt some computer skills usually have a better study performance than those who have not.

At the same time, imparting youngsters with effective computer skills facilities their future development. This is because nowadays, computers have been used as an essential office equipment in majority companies. If people can handle an outstanding computer skill in their professional area, for example, a marketing specialist knows how to use publisher to design pamphlets, this person is highly likely to obtain a promotion opportunity. Likewise, as an important information carrier, computer possesses the capability of exchanging information and dispersing news. Hence, teaching children to use computer equals to providing them with the connection to the world, which also benefits their future development.

In conclusion, the ability of using computer provides paramount advantages to children. Therefore, I am in support of the idea that it should be added as an additional skill in children’s skill set.