Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the ever advanced technology has been enabling people to travel to outer space. Many people claim that the development of space tourism will be the next trend. I firmly believe such development is beneficial.

There is no doubt that both governments and individuals could derive many benefits from developing space tourism. First of all, it fuels economic growth. As space traveling is regarded as an innovative and interesting travel pattern, the promotion of it will definitely attract large amounts of people, thereby catalyzing the economic development. In addition, relative innovations will be designed and produced associated with the development of space traveling, providing people with a high quality life. For instance, the memory foam pillows, which was invented to satisfy astronauts’ requirement, are now extensively used in people’s daily life, especially for those who suffer from spine or respiratory diseases.

Admittedly, the development of space tourism also possesses some drawbacks. In particular, the alarmingly fast rate at which it consumes precious fossil fuels may lead to power shortage, imposing a threat to those energy-dependent countries such as Japan and China. Nevertheless, this problem would be effectively alleviated if renewable energies such as solar and nuclear power were widely used around the nations. Thereby, it is unreasonable to say that developing space tourism is detrimental to the development of countries.

In conclusion, although developing space traveling may cause power shortage problem to some countries at this stage, the problem can be efficiently solved by using alternative energy resources. Thus, I am in support of the idea that developing space traveling is a totally positive trend.