Some people think a job not only provides income but also social life. Others think it is better to develop social life with people you do not work with. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

People hold divergent views whether employees should build their social circle based on their working relationships or avoid to involve their colleagues in daily life. Both views will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own opinion that both aspects are vital for people’s development.

There is no doubt that both individuals and companies could derive substantial benefits by developing a sound relationship with their co-workers. First of all, through talking with like-minded colleagues, employees are more likely to inspire innovative ideas related to their work. For example, Jack Ma, the most successful businessman in China, attributes his tremendous success to the conversation he had with his co-workers. In addition, liaising with colleagues in some social occasions establishes a bonded and closed relationship between employees. If people are able to work in a harmonious and cohesive environment, their work productivity will increase, which promotes the development of the company.

However, people who support the idea that individuals should develop their social life without the influence of their jobs also possess some sound reasons. To begin with, it reduces the potential competition between people. As social life is supposed to provide emotional support to individuals, building social relationships with those who work in different areas is more likely for people to feel fulfilled and secured. Moreover, socialising with different background people expands people’s social network. This is because by talking with these people, individuals could acquire essential information about other industries so that they can find a better employment opportunity to realise their personal development.

In conclusion, from my point of view, both socialising with colleagues and with other peoples are important to a person’s development. Therefore, they should be valued equally in this respect.