Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life, while others believe history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold divergent views as to whether learning from history is beneficial to our lives. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own perspective on this matter that learning history is of paramount importance in our life.

People supporting the idea that studying history is useless may put forth the following reasons. First of all, learning history wastes our precious study time. As history is regarded as a subject that cannot provide any direct benefits to our daily life, putting too much focus on it distracts our attentions from other useful subjects like genetic engineering and artificial intelligence. Moreover, in terms of its educational meaning, learning history is incapable of preventing humans from making similar mistakes. The outbreaks of the Second World War plays a vivid example here. Even though people had learnt lessons from the World War One, the World War 2 still inevitably broke out in the 1940s.

However, those who believe valuable information can be collected from history also possesses some sound points. To begin with, history contains and reflects traditional cultures and values. Learning it enables people to build a connection with previous generations and have a deep understanding of current moral and cultural system, thereby enhancing people’s national identities. Additionally, the discovery of some new breakthroughs is largely attributed to the abstraction of valuable information from historic records. For example, through looking back to the ancient medical record in Vietnam, scientists have found that sweet wormwood containing artemisinin is the specific medicine to cure malaria.

From my point of view, history plays an essential role to instruct our present practices. Although learning history associates with certain weaknesses, the strengths of it are more than capable of counteracting those drawbacks. Therefore, I firmly support the idea that the value of history ought to be taken seriously.