Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life, while others believe history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold divergent views as to whether or not learning from history is beneficial to our lives. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own perspective on this matter that learning history is of paramount importance in our life.

People supporting the idea that studying history is useless may put forth the following reasons. First of all, some old traditions are contradictory to present practices, the insistence of them drags down the working efficiency. For example, writing letters, rather than sending emails, which is still favoured by many senior workers have jeopardised the working effectiveness in many companies. Additionally, experience drawn only from history may misguide people’s behaviours, leading to failures in their life. This is because in such an eye-catching developed society, some old experience has already out of date. Sticking to them will undoubtedly cause personal lose in life.

However, those who believe learning from the past is valuable also possess some sound points. To begin with, learning history helps people build connection with the previous generations, thereby enhancing their national identities. For instance, history class is an essential subject in China’s curriculum system. It is by learning historic stories that improved the sense of national identity of Chinese children. Furthermore, it is widely accepted that history contains and reflects traditional values. Learning from history is able to assist individuals building correct moral value systems, which will help them to develop into the capable and contributive member of that society.

From my point of view, learning history is of great importance. Although it does have some drawbacks, the strengths of it are more than capable to counteract its weaknesses. Therefore, I firmly support the idea that the value of history should not be disregarded.