Protecting environment is the responsibility of multinational organisations rather than the responsibility of each government. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that the ever severe environmental degradation is taking a heavy toll on people’s life. Although some state that international organisations, rather than national government, should shoulder the importance of multinational institutions nor local authorities can be disregarded.

There is no doubt that multinational organisations have been playing an essential role in protecting and restoring our government. First of all, internationalised environmental organisations such as International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) have more power than local governments in enforcing globalised environmental regulations and standards. This is because such institutions are always united by highly experienced professionals, who normally possess a bigger voice in their specialist fields. Additionally, the funds purposed on protecting local environment will be reasonably allocated to poor countries under the supervision of these organisations. For instant, the World Wildlife Foundation (WWF) ensures the allocation of several million dollars every year to poverty countries like Kenya and Congo to support their environmental restoration programmes.

Nevertheless, the significance of national governments in protecting environment also cannot be underestimated. To begin with, local authorities can stimulate manufacturers to employ greener and more efficient technologies by providing financial incentives like compensations and subsidies. With the introduction of these technologies into the product line, local environment will be tremendously improved. Furthermore, environmental laws also need to be legislated by local government. For example, through enabling the environmental protection act, the pollution released by industrial sector in China has been dramatically reduced.

In conclusion, I agree with the idea that both multinational institutions and national governments are important in protecting the environment. Therefore, the responsibility should be shared equally between them.