International travel has many advantages to travellers and the country being visited. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that the increasing prevalence of travelling aboard has been influencing both visitors and the local countries in various aspects. This essay will compare the strengths and weaknesses of international travel, and argue that this phenomenon is more beneficial.

Admittedly, travel across national boundaries is associated with some drawbacks. To begin with, its negative impacts on travellers’ financial capacity, as travelling worldwide incur large amounts of expenditures such as air tickets and accommodations. Those expenses are likely to impose a financial burden to the tourists. Additionally, the over development of international tourism causes the deterioration of the local environment. The continued coral bleaching happening in Maldives plays a vivid example here. It is the excessive use of tourism yachts and seaplanes that has been polluting the seawater in Maldives, leading to the extensive death of the coral.

Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages brought by international travel, it is undeniable that both individuals and local nations can derive more benefits from it. First of all, this kind of travelling provides an easy way for people to learn other languages. For example, by attending overseas study tours to western countries like America and England, numerous school-age children in China have improved their proficiency in speaking English. Moreover, in terms of improving cultural exchanges, travelling to a foreign country are more capable of assisting individuals, in both countries, developing a mutual understanding of other cultures and customs, thereby promoting cultural communications between two countries. Furthermore, international tourism stimulates the local economy. This is because the surge of tourists generates loads of demands services like accommodations and transportations, which catalyses the local economic growth.

In conclusion, although travelling aboard possesses some drawbacks, I am in support of the idea that the merits of it do outweigh its weakness.