Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisement? What can be taken to protect them?

With the ever intensified competition among companies, an increasing number of advertisements are produced to attract customers. Personally, I believe the widespread advertisements are imposing a great influence on individuals’ life, and strict rules should be enforced as well as educational measure should be applied to protect consumers.

People are easily affected by advertisements due to the following reasons. First of all, mass media including television, radio and newspaper facilitate the infiltration of a variety of well-known brands into individuals’ lives by ceaselessly promoting the relative advertisements. As a result, people who are exposed to these intermedia frequently will be enticed to make unsensible consumption decisions. In addition, modern marketing strategies adopted by the most companies ensure that every advertisement is well-filmed with charming and interesting contents, which would easily arouse people’s desire to buy new products and leave them unsatisfied until they buy the goods. The persuading effect that every advertising possessed in imposing a significant impact on people’s consumption behaviours.

In order to protect consumers, two strategies could be employed. To begin, with the content of advertisements could be regulated. The strict rules applied on advertisements in Australia gives a vivid example. With the forbidden of broadcasting cigarette advertisings on mass media, the number of people who buy cigarette has decreased tremendously. Moreover, education is another effective method because it enhances people’s awareness to choose products based on their own needs. If consumers possess the capability to identify the differences between the real products and advertisements, they will not likely to spend money on non-essential products.

In conclusion, individuals are influenced by advertisements to a large extent, hence regulations should be enforced in advertising industry and consumers should be educated.