International travel has many advantages to travellers and the country being visited. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that the increasing prevalence of international tourism has been influencing visitors and local countries in various aspects. This essay will compare its strengths and weakness and argue that this development is more beneficial.

There is no doubt that individuals and countries could derive benefits from the development of international tourism. First of all, travelling worldwide is an easy way for people to learn other languages. The increasing popularity of overseas study tours in China plays a vivid example here. It is by sending school age children to visit Western countries that tremendously improves their proficiency in speaking English. Moreover, travelling across national boundaries helps people to develop a national understanding of other cultures, thereby helping them to develop into internationalized talents in the future. Furthermore, the development of international travel stimulates the local economy. This is because the surge of the tourists generates large demands in other services like accommodations and transportation, which catalyses the development of local economy.

Nevertheless, the negative impacts of international tourism also cannot be underestimated. To begin with, it imposes financial burdens to impoverish people. Specifically, it is widely recognised that travelling to a foreign country would incur large amount of expenditures such as air tickets and accommodations, which may lead to financial deficit to individuals. Additionally, compared with other industrial sectors, the promotion of international industry is pointed out to cause more threats to local environment. For instance, the use of public transport system generates a considerable amount of greenhouse gases, which results in the deterioration of the environment.

In conclusion, although international travel possesses some drawbacks, I am in support of the idea that it brings more benefits to both individuals and nations.