It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is true that thanks to the-state-of-the-art technologies having access to isolated natural areas has been attainable more than ever before. This increasingly progressive trend has several advantages along with some drawbacks, which will be discussed.

On the one hand, being achievable to visit distant locations can be beneficial. On the scientific level, allocating a considerable percentage of virgin areas on the Earth, remote natural habitats help scientists to gain a profound insight into the planet in which we are living. For instance, each part of the Earth has its exclusive features in terms of geological issues, assisting geologists to discover unknown facts associated to creation of the Earth, resulting in the possibility of making prediction about future. From an individual perspective, travelling will change into a repetitive and exhausting activity unless people are able to go to new and thrilling places like South Pole. In fact, not only would it be a once in their lifetime experiences, but they would also learn more about their planet.

However, the arguments mentioned above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, conducting comprehensive studies is required to provide essential facilities, such as appointed libraries and various equipment just to name, leading to disturb these virgin natural environments, which may cause the distinction of some scarce species. Secondly, not having enough information about different flora and fauna living in remote areas, tourists may damage the environment or even put themselves in explosion to dangerous situations. As an obvious example, polar bears being found in South and North Poles are not only attractive for visitors but also risky in terms of attacking.

In conclusion, although finding the way in distant natural regions brings several benefits to human, its negative impacts should also be taken into account.