It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects.

What are the causes? And what will be effected on society?

In recent years, many countries have seen a decline in the number of students taking up science subjects. In my opinion, there are several explanations for the inadequacy of science students and this situation has had undoubtedly negative impacts on social development.

The main reason leading to the lack of students in science field is that sciences are highly demanding fields. First, not all people are able to absorb scientific knowledge, not to mention the possibility of achieving success. Second, even if a person is extraordinarily well qualified to pursue this field, he or she has to invest a great deal of time and effort. Take medical students as a classic example, they must spend nearly 13 hours daily on average in the lab to conduct experiments. This example makes it clear how demanding it is to pursue a career in science.

This current problem definitely has adverse effects on the labour market segmentation. The proportion of the population trained in sciences cannot meet the demand for workers needed in some countries. As an inevitable result, there is an uncontrolled growth in the workforce in other sectors. In this case, the unemployment rate will increase dramatically and the nation, as well as the global economy, can be damaged. In addition, not enough scientists also leads to the lack of breakthroughs which can benefit human beings in all aspects from healthcare to technology.

In conclusion, the characteristics of science such as the difficulty level and the investment in time and effort are the main obstacle contributing to the lack of students studying the sciences. In the long run, unless this issue is addressed, the community will have to face unbalanced development.