It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject.

What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

There is a lack in the number of science subject students that can be seen in certain nations. This essay will explain the root of this phenomenon and also elicit some social impacts of it.

There are two major factors leading to the diminish of science-major students in terms of quantity. Firstly, the disinterest in science subjects can be derived from the requisite characteristics such as diligence, intelligence and patience. Mathematics is one salient example for the challenging of scientific-data analyzing subject, which include an excessive amount of work and the difficulty of math problems is of unnecessity compares to other subject learned at school, hence discouragement from choosing it as students’ major. Secondly, although science subject requires high commitment but the reward for the sacrifice is minor. Science degree holders usually find little chance in applying for jobs because of intense competitiveness in the same field, not to mention, income from science-related jobs is unworthy compare to extreme tension that these people suffer.

Society greatly suffers from the scarcity of human resource in science fields. First to mention, as the number of science experts become insignificance, other majors such as business and politics apparently are prevalent to people, which lead to the imbalance of workforce. In fact, the difference in the number of workers among areas will push a great deal of graduates to the verge of unemployment. Another problem is the shortage of science professionals as qualified employees will potentially become a deterrent of social development process.

In conclusion, hinders regarding some strict requirements of science subjects and little opportunities of employment are the explanation to the reducing number of student approaching to these subjects, and there are detrimental problems arising from this phenomenon.