It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Encouraging children to pick up reading materials is said by many people to become increasingly challenging. This essay aims to explore possible reasons for this trend and provide feasible solutions to encourage young readers to be more involved in the activity.

On the one hand, I believe that reading is losing its appeal to young members of society is largely because of the multimedia's tremendous growth in modern times. For example, millenials who grow up in a cartoon culture often prefer to watch a movie with impressive visual and clear audio to explore a fascinating fiction world than to read about it in a heavy book. Perhaps due to their still limited vocabulary, children often turn to the help of images and sounds to comprehend the unfamiliar words that may come up. Another possible explanation would be the plethora of recreational activities available to youngters nowadays. For these highly energetic individuals, chasing after a ball in a soccer match or trying to beat their friends in a computer game seem to be much more appealing than spending time looking at pages full of words they can barely read.

On the other hand, there are several applicable solutions to drum up interest among young readers. Firstly, authors of children books can include more pictures and drawings in their work and provide simple explanations for strange words. This, I believe, will help children to read better, and consequentially, more avidly. Secondly, parents can arrange different engaging pastime activities that center around their children's literacy skills. For instance, they can create boardgames in which their kids have to use cue cards to tell a story and role play the characters of the games.

In conclusion, I believe in order to popularize reading among youngsters, it is vital that they receive adequate help from a systematic collection of illustrations and get to participate in fun-filled activities to boost their reading skills.