Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods.

To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is suggested by a number of people that each country should make increasing production of goods and materials its absolute first priority. In my opinion, this is only a meritorious strategy to a certain extent.

To begin with, there are several instrumental benefits from promoting production that cannot be overlooked. Firstly, it increases domestic consumption as people will have more access to products as they are now more available. Secondly, such focus also provides resources for external trading with other more profitable markets. I believe that these two factors catalyze the development of the national economy and that this will constitute a solid platform for other developments in other fields.

However, from my point of view, there are other aspects of a society that should be given the same amount of attention. Economic growth is not sustainable unless political stability is achieved. In order to attain it, vital services such as education and healthcare must be made more accessible and practical activities to preserve culture should be conducted with great consideration as they meet with the most basic needs of the population. In addition, ever-increasing production may not always be beneficial because there is a saturation point at which the consumers cannot afford to buy more goods from the suppliers. Such imbalanced relationship might yield global economic crisis and nation inflation, just to name a few.

In conclusion, while the importance of material production is paramount, it is far from being the sole focal point for countries around the world.