It is often said that to become a successful businessman, a tertiary education is not all necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give your opinion with relevant examples

Entrepreneurship has gained global acceptance in recent times. Interestingly, it is frequently postulated that, to be successful as a business personnel, university education is not so paramount. Indeed, I completely agree, as the acquisition of soft skills supersedes the knowledge, predominantly acquired via tertiary institution when it pertains success in the business world.

In as much as tertiary education has seen popularity and forms one of the requirements to get a good paying job in our society today, it is however subjective to those soft skills required to adequately and successful own and run a business enterprise. The benefit of these skills such as creativity, independent thinking and perseverance guarantees the continuous growth of a commerce and not merely the acquisition of certificates. To illustrate this, certain notable business men such as the CEO of the popular Facebook, or even the founder of apple phones and many notable others, are known to be school drop outs not acquiring any form of university education. This begs the question, how are these great men able to do so without prior tertiary education? The answer only lies in the skills which is either inherent in them or learned informally overtime.

The benefits of these skills in contrast to tertiary education cannot be overemphasized. These tertiary institutions also acknowledge the benefits of students possessing business skills. Moreover, a gap year is usually allowed for students to develop these skills aside theoretical knowledge gained within the confines of the classroom. If tertiary education was really considered the Alpha, then gap years would have never been permitted. It is also seen that many successful Nigeria business men for example, whom has never seen the four walls of a university are still able to thrive and even better as seen in making profits, managing loss and making huge turnovers than those who had undergone classroom training.

In conclusion, it is postulated that tertiary learning is not so important in becoming outstanding in a business venture. I totally affirm to this, as the benefits of gaining business skills outweighs the theoretical knowledge.