Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an

unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try

and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

While some individuals are of the opinion that it is better to accept unfavourable circumstances, such as unsuitable employment or low income, others with contrary view, suggest it will be of best interest to attempt to improve such unpleasant situations. I agree with the later view as I believe that determination and hard work will help turn hard times around. Both viewpoint will be considered in this essay.

On the one hand, those philosophers who believe that humans should accept difficult conditions argue that it is the best. They say that every situation that one has to face in life has be predestined by the almighty, therefore, it will be of no good trying to change the situation. Looking at this from religious perspective, one will agree with them to some extent. However, even though some religious extremists hold the view that life occurrences are only but destiny, they also, agree that the creator has given us the wisdom to significantly improve on our predestined lives and make the best out of it.

On the other hand, I share the same view as other group of people, who believe that unfavourable times in life could be improved upon, if we have the courage and will power to face such challenges. For instance, My uncle, Mr Anthony, who was the General Manager of Nesco company, lost his job because he lacked PhD degree. He had to bravely accept the situation and pursue doctorate degree, which he acquired within two years. Today, he has been rewarded as the CEO of the Central Bank of Nigeria. Thus, this shows that with determination and hard work, one can reverse unpleasant situation.

To sum up, undoubtedly, there are some times when we are faced with difficulties and feel they are programmed to be so. However, I believe that even when we encounter such conditions, we should make an attempt to change the them by being determined and work hard to improve and turn bad situations into favourable outcomes.