It is quite common for both parents in a family to work. Sometimes it is because they need two salaries to survive whereas other times it their choice.What problems do you see in this situation? How does this affect the children and family life?

With the modernization of the society, it is not uncommon to see both the parents working. There are various reasons for it. Firstly, everybody wants to be financially independent. Secondly, with the increasing inflation and cost of living, it sometimes becomes necessary for both the partners to work. It is clear that this trend has some undeniable impacts upon their family lives and their children.

When both parents are working, it seems to be difficult to gather together with the whole family, especially when the work timings are different. Children suffer the most from this situation. First, children's health problems should be blamed to the parents. Working parents nowadays tend to devote virtually their whole time to work in order to ensure material well- being, which means that they may spend less time carefully taking care of their children's diet. Therefore, without supervision, children might eat unhealthy food or lead a sedentary lifestyle. This explain why close parental care and control is crucial in ensuring children's balanced diet and healthy life. Second, children are of high chance to be vulnerable to get moral sicknesses. This may be because they may feel lonely without any assistance from their parents in the crisis time. The loneliness of children degrades their self- confidence and self- esteem, which can pose a threat to their future lives. It is reported that children who do not have a close and supportive relationships with their parents in the childhood have to struggle more in their studies and work than their normal ones. A drawback of the both parents working is ego. As both are independent, ego often comes from these two partners, there would be a lot of arguments. There is no doubt that the increase level in divorce rate can partly due to the decrease in the tolerance level.

In conclusion, it is sometimes important for both the parents to work but no one can deny the fact that it certainly has detrimental impacts on their offspring and family lives. It is necessary to pay extra times to constantly take an eye on our children and try to spend as much time with our family as possible.