It is said that people who read books for pleasure have better imagination and language skills than people who watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that book lovers are believed to be more imaginative and linguistically proficient than those who watch television. Personally, I completely agree with this point of view.

There are two main reasons why individuals who read books for enjoyment are considered to have great creativity and linguistic abilities. One reason is that books are usually filled with texts, so readers have to create for themselves a whole new world where there are characters with actions and emotions, contexts, and issues placed in them. They can also develop their language skills and widen their knowledge while reading a certain type of book such as Atomic Habits if they are into the self-love genre, or Bound by Honour in case they love the romance type. In these two specific books, it has a plot with a wide range of words specialized in that genre and it not only helps those who are trying to learn a new language but learners can also bring the characters' replies into daily conversations to make it sounds more natural. Furthermore, the more they read the more curious and creative they are since the storyline tends to be more complex and thrilling later on, therefore, bibliophiles need to use their imagination and sometimes recall a few of their memories in order to make a suitable scene.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I think that watching TV can also bring some advantages to people as it is more appealing and entertaining than books and a good way to relax. Firstly, viewers have access to a huge variety of entertainment channels and it brings the best comedians, musicians and actors into our homes with just a few buttons. Secondly, programs can also be informative and educational. New coverage makes the public aware of events around the world and documents can make learning more interesting. Take National Geographic, for example, they provide information about the natural world and suggest solutions to tackle the extinction problem of some creatures, which gives students enjoyment and motivation in learning this subject at school.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that bookworms are believed to have a fantastic imagination and are linguistically skilled. However, I could not lower the value of watching TV, especially when people are stressed because of work in this modern world.