Learning English language at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English language? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so, how?

Many people are of the opinion that studying English at school is more pertinent than studying other local languages. In my opinion, English language is not just important, but also beneficial. However, other local languages should also be sustained.

English language is known by many as a lingual franca, therefore, everybody should learn it. The knowledge of English has made communication very simple. In other words, a lot of migrants and business men feel very comfortable to communicate with English speakers. They feel free to express themselves without having any barrier, so, it has made transactions and trade more effective and efficient.

Additionally, it has fostered international relationship, unity and trade. Many countries like Nigeria have garnered international aid in times of war and insurgency, this help was however made possible because there was no language barrier.

On the other hand, there is also need for us to sustain local languages because it shows one's origin, heritage and culture. For instance, people who have lost their parlance, will find it challenging to relate with people from their locality. They will find it hard to associate with their people as they have lost sight of their culture and tradition. Knowing and speaking one's language make one feel at home in the midst of their people.

Furthermore, we can sustain these languages by encouraging teachers to teach their students and parents encouraged to communicate in their local dialect to their wards.

In conclusion, although English language is essential for people to relate with others from different cultures, local languages stand as an identity. Therefore, the two languages ought to be taught equally in schools.