Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Sometimes people have to live in a country that requires them to speak nonnative language. Some people opine that this situation will cause both social and practical problems to occur. I completely agree with the view because of several reasons.

Firstly, social problem will most likely to occur because language serves as a communication bridge between people. All people use language when they want to say something, whether it is a long or short conversation. Therefore, if one does not master the language that most people are using, he will most likely be isolated from any social group. This can happen everywhere, including neighborhood and working places. For instance, a guy from United States just moved to Japan, where most of people in his working place are speaking in Japanese. Because he does not really master Japanese, he can not blend in with his workmates.

Secondly, practical problem will emerge because language is inseparable from doing daily activities. Almost all activities, including daily activities, involve using language. This can be purchasing public transportation ticket, ordering food menu, to using public facilities. Hence, if one does not understand the language that is mostly used in a country, he will find difficulty in doing his daily activities. For example, a guy from United Kingdom just emerged to Taiwan, where most of the food menus are written in Mandarin Chinese. Because he does not really understand Mandarin Chinese, he then finds difficulty in ordering menu.

In conclusion, I agree that residing in a country that requires us to speak foreign language may create significant problems in social and practical matters because language serves as a communication bridge between people and language is inseparable from doing daily activities.